Jenn: Tomorrow will be the longest day of my life

Tomorrow, Friday 16 March 2017 will likely be the longest day of my life. This is something I have often said about long work days, and one horribly long and difficult MTB ride we did in 2013 in Nepal (which I am still trying to erase from my memory). But tomorrow will be our first attempt at a 24-hour MTB race! That's right - the winner is the person who rides the most distance in 24-hours. Around a farm in the desert.


The preparation has been a bit frantic, and my training this week has suffered because of the extra tasks of shopping and organizing for the race. That's a bit of a pain, but being prepared is definitely more important. Plus, I expect to hit my normal weekly mileage target just in this one race if all goes to plan.

At the moment, I feel excited, nervous, and curious to see what a 24-hour race feels like. It's impossible to know without trying. And as most of the advice online seems to be geared towards pro riders, it's difficult to know which strategy to plan for. I am taking the "see how I feel" approach with lots of positive self-talk and setting some intentions around the things I can control (i.e., nutrition, hydration, preparation, etc.).

So, wish us luck!! Can't wait to report back that we have completed it, survived it, and had some fun at the same time!

Race details can be found here:

Race Details