Jenn: Starting 2017 With Conviction


Checking out Strava this week, I realized I have already ridden 801 MORE kilometres than I did in January 2016! So, feeling pumped for this new sense of accomplishment so early in the year.

This time last year, I was recovering from pneumonia and my January 2016 grand total was 56km! Our final ride in Tenerife pre-illness was the only reason I got that many.

In my coaching practice, I always ask my clients how they will build on their successes to:
  • measure the things they are doing well
  • build and keep the momentum going
  • share their enthusiasm with their circle of friends and supporters
  • benchmark previous goals
  • reflect on how this success was possible (so you can do it again!)

So, I’m practicing that same thing. Building on the little achievements that will all add up to a happy and satisfying race in April.

Having a big scary goal is a great way to get moving! There are days where I am propelled to train solely by the fear of the unknowns that lie ahead in JoBerg2C. Well, that and the session turning green in Training Peaks once Ive finished to impress my coach, Szymon 😃

Will I race JoBerg or just ride it? Will I be competitive or just barely haul my butt across the finish line each day? I don’t know, and won’t know until the last day of that race.

In the meantime, let's see if I can smash my February 2016 kilometers (552) this month!!

Thanks to everyone for cheering me on…it really works!

xo Jenn